When my Oldest Daughter Answered a Question with “I have no idea” I was Surprised and Proud.

0419171136
Very proud of catching her first lizard. It was alive but injured :/

This is my oldest daughter, Aubrey. Between her height and ability to clearly and vividly express herself, most people think she is 6 years old. She just turned 4. I have had people question me when I say she just turned 4. Really people… I gave birth to her. I think I know her age. All sarcasm aside, Aubrey is a very intelligent little girl. She loves learning. She will wake up in the morning, grab her Kindergarten workbooks (because the Pre-K ones are “too simple”) and begin doing school work on her own and correctly without me telling her what to do. She amazes me daily with her wit and common sense.

Aubrey has always been a child who inherently knew right from wrong. She never tried to stick her fingers in an outlet as a baby, chew on blocks, push, pull hair, bite, scratch etc. She was just a very well behaved baby. There were no terrible twos… There was full blown three-nager though. I barely made it through 3 with her. I swear no amount of punishment ever effected her. She tested me like no other, but she knew exactly what she was doing. She would say “Mommy I am being naughty so you will show me more attention.” Really?!?!? What 3 year old says that? Aubrey has a flair for dramatics… a HUGE FLAIR!

But even through the horror of raising a three-nager, there was immense joy. She began taking dance and art classes. The teachers regularly told me how well-behaved and smart she was. I was in dance as a child and have always loved art so seeing her loving them and excelling in them as well excites me.

Aubrey also began her at home acting career. She takes books that she has memorized the stories and acts them out. The Hunchback of Notre Dame is one of her favorites. She gets props for the stake burning scene and has her stuffed toys and Barbies be the townspeople. She acts as Quasimodo saving Esmeralda. It is quite the production. I have watched it at least half a dozen times.

I am not the only one who has noticed her strong leaning towards the arts. Many people have told me she should be an actress or dancer when she grows up. Honestly, if she doesn’t end up doing something creative I will be supremely shocked.

0426171331
My stylish princess 🙂

A couple days ago, when she was dressed as you see in the picture, I was sitting outside watching Aubrey and her little sister play. They were pretending as they always do. Aubrey was the princess and Isabelle was her Fairy Godmother (Cinderella inspired pretending). After about 20 minutes of this Aubrey came over to get a drink of water. Out of curiosity, I asked her what she wanted to be when she grows up. It is a question I have never asked her before because well… She’s only 4 🙂 Her immediate response was “Mom, I have NO idea.” I was honestly surprised by this statement. I have a lot of friends with children very close in age to Aubrey and almost all of them have told me some cute story about what their kid wants to be when they grow up. Aubrey has such a vivid imagination I figured she’d come up with some fairy princess dancer dream job. But nope… she has “NO idea.”

Her response to my question made me proud because like always Aubrey is very much so her own person. She could have said she wants to be like me and be a mommy/business owner or like her daddy and be a farmer. She could have said she wants to be a dancer or an artist (which she has mentioned would be fun to do even when she’s older). She could have said anything, but she didn’t. She is holding that judgement for when she is older. While the stories from my friends about their 4 year old wanting to be a doctor or animal helper (aka Vet) is super cute, I’m happy I have a totally different story to tell.

I know someday she’ll have it figured out or she could really be like her mommy and still be figuring out what she wants to be when she grows up 🙂 But that’s the beauty of her response. She is SOOOO young. She doesn’t need to have to know what she wants to be when she grows up. She can just enjoy pretending to be a princess or a cook or the Hunchback of Notre Dame. At this age she can pretend to be whatever she wants to be and that is the beauty of childhood.

Leave a Reply

