The Ketogenic Chronicles: My Health Journey Day 1 & 2

My weight has been the bane of my existence for the last 9 years. I have been on a (this is hard to say) 50 lb weight yo-yo. My lowest was 150 lbs 9 years ago. My highest was 200 lbs when I was 39 weeks pregnant with my oldest. Before you say that I can use the pregnancy as an excuse, I can’t. I weighed 193 before I was pregnant with my second daughter. I have a love-hate relationship with food. I have gotten much better about what I eat at home, but I still go out to eat WAY too much. When the people at Dunkin Donuts talk to me like I’m a regular (because I am) there is an issue. (I don’t only purchase coffee either.) I have reached my “I’m done feeling like s***” maximum. This is where the Ketogenic Diet comes in.

0605171952

“At the most basic level, the ketogenic diet is one that relies on fat as the main source of energy… The vast majority of people today are walking around right now burning glucose-sugar-for fuel and eating mostly carbohydrates to meet their daily energy needs… To get your body to start using fat for fuel instead of sugar, it’s necessary to restrict your intake of carbohydrates and moderate protein- and eat as much saturated and monounsaturated fats as it takes to feel full.” (The Ketogenic Cookbook)

I know this sounds like it goes against everything we learn. You are supposed to eat low-fat cardboard to be healthy! Not true… There are a ton of studies out there talking about the benefits of a high fat diet. You just have to be willing to do the research. Also, when I say high fat I am not talking about fat from McDonald’s Burgers. I’m talking about cooking/baking with coconut oil, eating avocados, among many other healthy fat options.

Some of the benefits of the ketogenic diet are:

No more sleepy afternoons following lunch
Clear Skin
Improvements in chronic joint and muscle pain
No more hunger and cravings
Fat loss and appetite control
Calm mood and steady energy throughout the day
Sound, restful sleep
A feeling of contentment and gratitude about life
Markedly improved cardiovascular health markers
No more obsessing and worrying about food
Improved resistance to chronic disease
Optimized brain health and improved memory

And that is just the beginning! (The Ketogenic Cookbook)

Members of my husband’s family have been on this diet ranging from 6 months to 1 year and have all seen incredible results. Their results vary from losing excess weight to being taken off multiple medications because they are no longer needed. The ketogenic diet isn’t just a weight loss program for his family members who have been on it. It has been a life changing event. It is helping them to live a better, healthier life.

0605171954a.jpg
One of our favorites: Stromboli

I have been dabbling in the ketogenic diet for about a month now. I have made dinners, lunches, snacks and breakfasts all from the book. Myself as well as my husband, 4-year-old and 2-year-old have literally LOVED EVERYTHING! The food is easy to make, affordable and beyond delicious. So after a month dabbling we took the leap. Yesterday was Day 1 eating only ketogenic meals. Today was Day 2. I have eaten better in the last two days than I have eaten in A LONG TIME. (And our grocery bill was the same!)

 

For me the ketogenic diet isn’t some fad that I’ll try for a while, fall of the wagon and then try something else. It is a lifestyle change. I want to be able to keep up with my children. I want to be able to try on clothes without hating myself afterwards. I want to know that what I am putting into my body is not destroying it. Basically, I want to be healthy.

In the beginning of this blog I talked about my 50 lb weight yo-yo. It’s all just numbers. I am not so worried about the numbers as I am the inches. Which is why I measured myself before starting this diet as well. When I start losing inches that is when I will be really happy!

At the end of each week I will add to The Ketogenic Chronicles. I will discuss the highs and lows (which hopefully will be none) and fill you in on all the great food.

Extra information* on the Ketogenic Diet:

Since Dr. Rollin Turner Woodyatt discovered that a ketogenic diet is beneficial for preventing epileptic seizures, scientific studies have shown that is can also help many of the most catastrophic neurodegenerative conditions, including autism, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS, narcolepsy, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, traumatic brain injury and stroke.

There is now strong evidence that other diseases can be improved with the ketogneic diet, such as type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), IBS, heartburn, and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease.

The ketogenic diet helps you control two critical aspects of health: blood sugar and inflammation.

*This information was gathered from The Ketogenic Cookbook. While I have seen this information elsewhere, I have the cookbook so access to the information was easier.

 

Leave a Reply

